1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Compression/some punch (maybe volume pedal?)

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by freds521, Oct 3, 2008.

1. freds521

freds521

Oct 3, 2008
    I'm new to the effect world of bass. I've always tried to avoid using them... it's never been an issue except now I'm trying to add some punch during a live set for some songs.. I'm not going for distortion, just a little punch to cut through. I've tried some compression and it got somewhat where i need to be. Any suggestions? Thank you

Fred

2. bongomania

bongomania Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Which compressors have you tried? Check the FAQ linked in my sig for some thoughts on the subject. A volume pedal is def. not what you want. However if you are using passive basses, or low-output basses, you may find that a preamp pedal can give you a ton more presence and punch. I use the Radial PB-1 for this purpose. You may also find that a different EQ than you're used to will do the trick. A push in the high mids, less in the lows, will have you cutting through like nobody's business.

3. For punch I might boost some of your low mids, cut some of your lows, see if that helps.

4. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    A decent compressor is exactly what you need. Bongo's compressor overview is the right place to start (I have it in my "Favorites"). Just a suggestion: you can buy a lot of compressor for relatively little loot if you know what you're looking for.

Riis

5. Low Key

Low Key Supporting Member

Feb 2, 2007
    Chicago
    +1