Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

bass grimoire

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Feb 11, 2005.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    how come you guys didn't tell me about this years ago!?! i was inspired to buy it from a 17 year old bass newcomer at a show. i think this book is invaluable for scales and breaking new ground on the bass. i've been using the neck diagrams to memorize the different modes and i'm having a blast. feels almost as if i'm just learning all over again. i always knew the major and minor scales, but went mostly by ear and feel. playing in all the different modes now in different postions is blowing my mind. never realized how much i DIDN'T know. life is good. :)

i love bass.

2. zillo

zillo

Jun 5, 2003
    Well that's alright! I've been playing a couple of years, and more than ever I'm experiencing little epiphanies of rythm and and relationships on the fretboard.

Now I'm playing with a lot of Duck Dunn's baselines. Simple beautiful, and grooving.

The more I learn the less I know! It seems like that should be frustrating, but it's not!

I love bass too.

3. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Absolutely. Bass Grimoire is a "must have" for any serious bassist. I got mine at B. Dalton's when they were still a small shop. :)

4. frobie

frobie

Jan 7, 2005
    I have one as well...many crazy scales

5. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Da gum it! I have recommended "The Bass Grimoire" many, many times over the years here at TalkBass. I do recommend it with a caveat, however.