1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Playing in Folk Music

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by bdengler, Oct 4, 2006.

1. bdengler

bdengler

Jan 23, 2000
    New Albany, Ohio
    Does anyone have suggestions on good examples of double bass playing in folk music? I will be playing with an all accoustic church group in a "folk" style and I'd sure would like to listen to some good examples of the DB in folk music. Most of my background is orchestral. Thanks for your suggestions,

Brian

2. rprowse

rprowse

Dec 17, 2005
    Wellington NZ
    Edgar Meyer... "Uncommon Ritual"!
    Be creative with it, follow the same rules as a bass guitarist would in a pop song, try strong roots and 5ths. to start with. Then use major and minor scales to add notes.Don't forget to think rhythmically.

3. mcnaire2004

mcnaire2004

Jan 17, 2006
    everywhere
    Depends on what type of church your playing at. If you go to a black church like me they want a jazzier "crunker" style that is in rythem with the corus (the drummer will kill you though). If it's a white church (i know i'm 1/2 white even know I look and claim my white side) then it's more of a classic rock(been to a few white churches with friends). Or if you go to a hickier countrier church well... you know. Well, thats down here in the south don't quite know how it is in ohio. Good luck though.

4. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Hi--

It doesn't matter if it is electric or double bass, IMHO. Check out the
    archive of webcasts at www.woodsongs.com . :cool:

5. Brian;