Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Strings for Playing Bluegrass music

Discussion in 'Bluegrass [DB]' started by born2glf, Jul 18, 2005.

1. born2glf

born2glf

Jul 17, 2005
    I was wondering if someone could suggest a good string for a upright bass playing bluegrass. I am new to the Bass and just learning. I have a older bass and have no idea the last time the strings where changed.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Bobby King

Bobby King Supporting Member

May 3, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    While not all Bluegrassers use gut strings, the majority probably do. The gut string sound is especially appropriate for Bluegrass. The tone is thick and punchy and they're great for slapping too. I'd recommend a set of Efrano, Lenzner or LaBella guts. Keep in mind that these will cost you about $200. Available from Lemur Music, Quinn Violins, Upton Bass. etc. There are also custom gut stringmakers like Dan Larson and Damian Dlugolecki, but their strings are ridiculously expensive (good though!). All gut strings are sensitive to temperature changes, they stretch quite a bit while being broken in and need to be tuned frequently.

Many people also use gut for the top two strings mixed with a steel or synthetic string on the bottom, The wound gut E&A strings that come with standard sets tend to be rather thick. Some people also want lower strings with a little more sustain.

There are also synthetic, gut substitutes like Supernil, Eurosonic or Innovation Rockabilly which are cheaper than real gut, more stable tuning-wise and are capable of producing a gut-like sound.

Simplest answer: Try a set of Efrano ( sometimes called "european gut") from Lemur Music.

3. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    In addition to Bobby's excellent post, you may wish to browse the newbie links post at the top of the forum.