1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass volume problem?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by psung, Oct 2, 2013.

1. psung

psung

Jun 14, 2013
    Hey guys,

A beginner here.
    I owned a Hofner Icon Bass for a few years now. Recently, the input jack came out loose and I was able to fixed it, however, ever since then it always have this volume problem.
    The pickups seem to be working fine but the volume only comes out when the volume knobs are turn fully up.

Turn the volume knobs down just a tiny bit then there's this cracking sound and the sounds are gone.
    The pickups are still up but the sounds are almost completely gone with just a few tint of sound burst up here and there.

Anyone know what is causing this?

Thanks

2. gregmon79

gregmon79 I did it for the muff... Supporting Member

Dec 20, 2012
    Chicago IL
    Sounds like your connections from the pups to the input jack have become loose and or disconnected. Are you any good at soldering? It probably just needs a good once over with a soldering iron where the wiring meets your input jack connections from your pups. That's what it sounds like to me anyway. What did you mean by your input jack came out loose?

3. psung

psung

Jun 14, 2013
    Thanks for your reply. This might sounds stupid, but is there anywhere I can find a step-by-step tutorial with picture on how to do just that?

What I meant by input jack came out loose is that, I plug the bass into the amp rather too often and one day when I pulled the cable out, it must have unscrewed the input jack and so it got loose inside the body.
    I have to use a plier to pull it out.

4. gregmon79

Dec 20, 2012
    Chicago IL