Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

beginner - reading music

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by z4knerd, Oct 17, 2004.

1. z4knerd

z4knerd

Jul 1, 2004
    ive been playing bass for 4 months now, and I have just been reading tabs, I cannot read music. I have only knowledge of the major scales, but nothin more than that. I want to learn to read music but not sure where to start. Any advice? thanks in advance - zak

2. picknslap

picknslap

Sep 9, 2004
    Manteca
    I found a book at my local music shop, called, Music Reading for Bass, it's published through Hal Leonard, and issued by Musicians Institute, it's great.

3. Superdave

Superdave

Apr 20, 2003
    St. Louis, MO
  4. Great site thanks for sharing
    Here's a useful tip
    Since your only starting break your reading practice in two sections
    a) Pitch reading- read everything as a single quarter note ( crotchet ) even if the music has different rhythms
    b) Rhythm reading- Pick up any sheet of music you can find and practice reading the rhythms not only by what it looks like but what it sounds like
    You may have to get a teacher to show you how to count rhythms

5. Modern Reading Text In 4/4 by Louis Bellson(Henry Adler publications)-the best book out there for developing rythm reading skills.There are no notes-so you don't even need your instrument in order to play these(but you can if you want to)

6. sedgdog

sedgdog

Jan 26, 2002
    Pasco, WA
    Check out www.musicdojo.com The have very good courses. I have not taken the reading course, but have taken several others all of which were very good.

All the best,
    Tim

7. James S

James S

Apr 17, 2002
    New Hampshire
  8. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR