1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Beginner - Unusual habit in my muting technique.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Riptide, Feb 26, 2021.

1. Riptide

Riptide

Jun 3, 2013
    Chattanooga, TN
    As the title suggests, I am a beginner (as of the beginning of this month), and I am trying to take things slow to find what right-hand technique(s) may suit me best.

Little bit of context that could be irrelevant, I started out playing a 5-string - intentionally, so I could just dive in to extended range headfirst. (Ibanez GSR205)

I've noticed that, rather than using the 'floating thumb' technique or anchoring my thumb on the B string/pickup, I've been sliding my thumb underneath the strings as I 'climb' my way up the higher strings. It is usually between the neck pickup and the neck itself.

Is this technique going to be detrimental to my playing in any way in the future? I don't see anyone else talking about or using this technique and I assume that's for a good reason. I'd rather not be practicing the wrong things and "getting good at being bad" as I would call it.

It'd be cool to find out that it's not a big deal, because it is comfortable to me, but I would like to adjust myself as soon as possible.

Thanks in advance for any and all constructive feedback/advice, friends.

2. Unusual muting techniques are not uncommon and should be fine, as long as they get the job done and don't hinder your playing. John Patticucci has a way of muting that I could never copy, but it works for him.

3. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA
    It sounds like you're using what's known as the "moveable anchor" technique:

Obese Chess and Element Zero like this.
  4. Yonni

Yonni

Oct 31, 2016
    Scotland