Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Behringer vs. ampeg rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by norskbass, Mar 31, 2004.

1. I'm a newbie so don't hurt me to bad if this is a stupid question.
    Can a Behringer bx3000t amp with an Avatar 410 cab sound as good as an ampeg B2r amp and ampeg 410 cab?

2. dmielke

dmielke

Mar 25, 2004
    Here, let me see if I can confuse you first..and don't worry, the only thing that would be stupid about a question is that if you don't ask it, IMHO.

"Good" or "Bad" sounds are in the ear of the beholder. That said, both the Ampeg and the Behringer cab will have different sounds. I'm not sure what kind of sound the Behringer has, I'll let someone who has one or has played one answer that. However, the Ampeg has some of that signature "Ampeg" sound, being somewhat warm and having a touch of compression, in my opinion anyway.

The best solution is to go out and play both if you can. I realize that in some places (like my home state of Montana), I'd be lucky to even find the Behringer and I'd have to drive 250 miles (one way) to find an Ampeg. However, the thing you'll have to decide for yourself is if the price difference is enough to make it worthwhile. Don't get me wrong, the Ampeg does sound good, but for the $350 extra you're going to pay, you'll have to decide if it's worth it. Granted, along with the B2R's name you'll probably get a bit more reliability and higher resale value, but if you don't have the money, it just ain't going to fly. Now as far as how the Behringer sounds, I'll let someone else chime in.

Heck, I'm just kind of bored and wanted to help someone. Really do hope this helps, though.

Dustin