Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best 410 for a 5 String

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BNM, Feb 26, 2006.

1. BNM

BNM

Feb 4, 2006
    Queens, New York
    Both the cabs that I currently own are bottomed out by my 5-String Spector. They are both SWR, a Workingman's 1x15 and a LA10. I'm in the market for a 410 cab, and I'm just looking for opinions on which 410s can handle the low B the best.

Thanks in advance,
    Ben

2. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    My Avatar B410 Neo handles my Low B like a monster!!! I have never heard a 410 yet that can handle the low b so well! Check my sig for my short review.

3. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Any reason you are really set on a 410? Whats the price range?

4. BNM

BNM

Feb 4, 2006
    Queens, New York
    I was thinking a 410, but I'm open to all other suggestions. I'm not too experienced so any advice would be nice. I was also thinking about a 410 and 115 together, but that would probably be too much for me. I'll spend what I have to in order to make this happen, and I'll probably buy used.

5. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    What kind of tone are you looking for? What do you play?

6. BNM

BNM

Feb 4, 2006
    Queens, New York
    Basically I'm looking for a clean, smooth tone, that works for rock or jazz. I don't know if that helps.

7. Matt Call

Matt Call Supporting Member

Aug 1, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    For some reason, I think you'd dig a 212...

8. T-Funk

T-Funk

Jul 2, 2005
    USA
    I prefer Eden's D410XST.

9. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Bergantino 322 if you have a local dealer would be my top choice.

10. BNM

BNM

Feb 4, 2006
    Queens, New York