1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best Online Bass Instruction

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ChuckRth59, Oct 23, 2013.

1. ChuckRth59

ChuckRth59

Oct 22, 2013
    Monument, CO
    I have been playing bass for around 9 years or so, and I currently play in my church worship band. I have never had any formal instruction (lessons, etc.) and have only read various bass music books to help me to get where I am now. I am feeling a sense of frustration in that while I can easily play to chord charts as is the case currently, I really have no idea of where the music is going without the benefit of those charts. Is there any suggested online training that will explain things so I can clearly understand why and how the music is put together? I have looked at TMBG and while it is good instruction, and provides a lot of theory, I just don't seem to be able to get the answers I am looking for. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    This remark would suggest that a good teacher would be the best way to proceed. Learning from books and the internet is OK to a point, but you cant beat one to one lessons.

As for the TMBG, AFAIK there is a kind of back up forum open to all who purchase the DVD's. This allows people to ask particular questions.

Perhaps the good people here on TB could answer some of your questions if you'd like to ask ?

3. jefkritz

jefkritz

Oct 20, 2007
    iowa city, IA
    +1

this sounds like a job for a real person, whether in person or via skype

4. ChuckRth59

ChuckRth59

Oct 22, 2013
    Monument, CO
    Thanks for the reply. I do feel that you are right in that I should get a live instructor to help me with those questions.

5. javadog

javadog

Mar 13, 2010