1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bill Merchant...good?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by sibass89, Apr 13, 2006.

1. sibass89

sibass89

Jan 29, 2006
    Cincinnati, OH
    I've had some bad experiences with one NYC repair guy and I need to bring my bass in for a routine checkup. The bass used to be open but when the top was taken off the soundpost wasn't put in the right place, so that needs to be moved back to get rid of the wolfs that it created. Also, I've had two poorly repaired cracks on the top that need to closed, and it's time for a new bridge (or atleast top because I have adjusters).

I was curious about people's experience with Bill Merchant. Is his work good quality? Is he quick with his work? I'm just looking for some feedback about him and his work.

Thanks,
    Nick

2. jonas

jonas

Dec 9, 2003
    Frankfurt am Main/Germany
    Kontrabass-Atelier, Lando Music (Germany)
    I never take off the top to put the soundpost in place. In Germany, we do this through the f-holes ...

3. sibass89

sibass89

Jan 29, 2006
    Cincinnati, OH
    Oh I know that, but there is a crack on the top where it had to be taken off to be repaired. When this happened and they reset the soundpost, it created a lot wolf tones. There are a lot of things that can be attributed to wolf tones but thats the only thing right now that makes sense as I was using the same strings before and after the repair.

4. Jeremy Allen

Jeremy Allen Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2002
    Bloomington, IN
    I've heard good things about Bill Merchant, but have never used his services.