Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bryndog, Sep 14, 2005.

1. HI,
    I have been playing for abut 10 years and something that has always happened to me no matter how much I play are blisters. Recently i have been away for a week and not played, and have had to come back and play a rehaersal and 3 shows in a row one niight after each other. I love this, but after playing the rehearsal, my fingers blister up on both my fretting hand and the playing hand. I therefore have to pop and play through the blisters at the following shows.

I know there is now way of getting round having blisters but is there anyway to make it easier and whats the best thing to do if you blister up whilst on tour?
    Is there any old wives remedies that can toughen your fingers up?

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Actually there IS a way around blisters. Don't take a week off. If you do that, no wonder you get blisters! I try to play every single day for that reason.

But if you get them, there's really not a whole lot you can do. I've heard of people using NuSkin on them, but that's only good for popped blisters, and it wears off quick and stings when you first put it on. You could wear a BandAid or sports tape, but it might cause drag on the string.

But your best is to play for at least a half hour every day and don't go more than a couple days without playing.
  3. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    In my experience, the times when I've suffered from blisters have been when I've been playing too hard. To get past that, you've either got to play hard a lot or learn to disassociate the energy of the performance from the amount of physical effort you put into your playing.