Bluegrass Bass Where do I go from here

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by BillyMac, Mar 10, 2005.

1. BillyMac

Mar 10, 2005
    I started playing the double bass just two years ago. I started out with a great teacher who was teaching me the classical and proper way to play. However, I really only wanted to play bluegrass and quickly learned chords and kind of dropped the Classical/proper techniques. Now I am very happy playing bluegrass but wish to fill in more of the notes than just playing 1&5 or 1353 Any suggesstions? Should I go back to formal lessson? I am playing alot at local jam sessions and learning from others. But the question is formal music lesson? Please advise as I do want to continue you bluegrass and maybe add a little jazz.
  2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Yup. You'll need both music lessons and probably a lot of touching up on your technique, based on your story.
  3. I have found that it is far easier to "fill in more of the notes" with proper technique.

I play mostly bluegrass but take lessons from a jazz player. I don't take weekly or even monthly lessons. We get together 4-5 times per year for a 4 hour session. Between times, we are in contact via e-mail. Most of what he works with me on is jazz oriented.

However, it has made me a far better bluegrass bassist, and when I say better, I don't mean able to play more notes-which I think actually detracts from the music. I believe I play better notes with far less effort.
  4. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Getting your left hand into a "classical" grip would be a great jump for you.