1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Blues bass for total beginners

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by nickonbass, Mar 24, 2009.

1. nickonbass

nickonbass

Jun 8, 2008
    It's been a while since I posted on here so hi to all.

I have been working on a website for total beginner players wanting to learn to play blues bass. Most of you know I put up bass jam tracks on my jam tracks website for people but I keep getting requests to do something for people who are just starting out.

The beginner bass stuff I've just put up is here: www.bassblues.com

I've put up a jam track with guitar and drums and just drums you can use for practice and then about 10 bass lines, starting with just playing the root note.

With each bass line I have recorded me playing bass to the drum track only so you can hear how it's meant to sound and also tabbed out each bass line.

So I hope that helps some of you new to bass, players out there. Or anyone else that is wanting to learn some simple blues.

It's not a great deal of info but you could come and sit in with my blues band if you could just play the lines I've put up.

The jam tracks for bass players are all here: www.freejamtracks.com

I stripped down the members and made all the tracks available for free again. I prefer people using them than trying to squeeze a dollar out of people.

As I'm sure a lot of you are aware (we were discussing it on this forum for a while last year) - I tried putting up a members section to the jam tracks site. That was a mistake. Mainly because I've always done this stuff for the sake of doing it more than anything. Adding the members section took a hell of a lot of time. Plus it never covered the costs for the site anyway.

But in terms of the time I spent on it - urgh, I could have learnt some more lines from radio station WOO-TEN!