1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bowing question...

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by sbeth, Dec 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. sbeth

sbeth

Nov 22, 2017
    Olympia, Washington
    Weird question. I have returned to bass playing after a LONG break and notice a lot of shortcomings in my playing I don't even remember having as a total beginner! Anyway, one thing that I tried today was really magical, but obviously not a good solution long term, so I'm hoping someone A. won't laugh at me and B. can suggest something that gets the same result but isn't a sock.

Here's the deal: I discovered that my bow grip was really bad - again, I don't remember this being a problem before but perhaps my memory is selective. I found a way to work on that and had about 80% improvement in my bowing. But I was still frustrated by the fact that my thumb joint caves in - I have very hypermobile hands. So I tried putting a balled up sock in my hand, sort of behind the bow. Magic! All of the sudden my bowing sounded great! But of course I cannot always play while holding a sock...the very thought makes me laugh. Thoughts?

2. mtto

mtto Supporting Member

May 25, 2008
    Los Angeles, CA
    French or German?

3. Andy Mopley

Andy Mopley

Sep 24, 2011
    A. Not laughing, but given it is Xmas, a sock may not be out place..
    B. German or French bow hold?

4. sbeth

sbeth

Nov 22, 2017
    Olympia, Washington
    French. I feel like I probably should have originally learned German, but at this point I'm not up for learning new tricks :)

5. Andy Mopley

Andy Mopley

Sep 24, 2011
    Apart from the balled up sock? ;) Anyway, can you post a picture, intrigued by how this has helped you...

6. neilG

neilG

Jun 15, 2003
    Ventura, CA