1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Broken Input Jack

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Crazyfist, Mar 30, 2013.

1. Crazyfist

Crazyfist

Sep 26, 2011
    The problem just suddenly happened a few days ago without warning! :spit:
    Whenever I plug my bass into an amp, there is no output, or at least there is the teeniest tiniest amount when I turn everything on my amp all the way up!
    I've checked if it's either the amp, the battery or the lead by plugging into different things and I'm pretty sure it's the bass that's the problem.

I've opened it up to have a look, but it doesn't look like there's anything wrong with it... Then again, I'm a bit of a noob at the moment with this sort of stuff.

I can't upload pictures at this time, but any thoughts on what the problem might be would be greatly appreciated.

It's a green Yamaha RBX765A if that helps at all. I think it's an enclosed jack,

Thanks for reading,
    Crazyfist

2. maurilio

maurilio Musician - Owner Mo's Shop & MBD - Tech Nordstrand

May 25, 2003
    Redlands, CA
    is it active? obvious question, did you check the battery?

M

3. Crazyfist

Crazyfist

Sep 26, 2011
    Sorry, forgot to mention that! Yes, it's active, a single 9 volt battery. It's not the battery either... I did the licking test to be sure!

Crazyfist

4. audioglenn

audioglenn

Jul 14, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    The "licking test" is not enough. Even a battery with much less than 9 volts will still give you a jolt on your tongue, but NOT have enough voltage to power your pickups. You should definitely try a new battery. That could very well solve the problem. And don't get a cheap battery, either.

5. maurilio

May 25, 2003
    Redlands, CA
    licking test, I like that :D