1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Buying a new bass within the week....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tugboat, Jul 25, 2012.

1. Tugboat

Tugboat Supporting Member

Nov 7, 2003
    NY, County of Orange
    I know this is one of countless threads looking for an opinion on bass sound/quality...sorry ahead of time.

I'm a drummer by trade, but love to dabble in the bass as a hobby. A few years ago I needed $$$ so I sold my two basses, a Spector Legend and a Fender American Jazz. I'm really jonesing and plan on start playing again as soon as I get a bass. I know I don't need a $2000 bass, or even a $1000 bass, but I am a bit of a snob so I want something halfway decent. Most likely I'll be playing on my own or with my church band, which is actually a pretty decent gig occassionally. I've narrowed my choices down to two basses....either one of the new Epiphone Classic Thunderbirds at $500, or the Jackson Dave Ellefson CBX at $400. I know they are both good basses and to be honest my playing level is above novice but not intermediate. I was wondering if anyone had any opinions on either of these basses? Any Thunderbird owners, or Jackson owners care to chime in?

Also, curiousity here...a friend of mine suggested getting a five string, but I've never played one, does anyone think it's worth it for someone in my position to bother, meaning at my playing level? THANKS GUYS!!!

2. mmbongo

mmbongo Dilly Dilly! Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    Those are quite different basses, but I can't stand Thunderbirds so if limited to those I'd go Jackson.

But, I'd get a Brubaker Brute or Lakland 4401/5501 over either of them if it were me.

And again..for ME..I would get a 5 string. They feel more natural to me, and the extra range is nice to have.

3. bassplar

bassplar