Can you explain bass amp, line input/output to me...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DM3MD, Apr 30, 2019.

1. DM3MD

DM3MD

Apr 17, 2019
    Hi,

This is my first post. I joined because of an unusual gear set up question. I’m an acoustic guitarist using SWR gear. I have a Strawberry Blonde amp, which as you probably know is an 80 watt amp that can handle all acoustic instruments.

I’m looking to add a bit more power and bottom end, so I had a strange idea...can I add a 1x10 bass speaker cab? Will my amp actually drive a small bass cab/tweeter? I really miss SWR and thought maybe an old WM10 cabinet might work.

Also, I noticed a local WP10 for sale, and it has a side input to act as a powered monitor. Can I run a line out the back of my amp that says “extension speaker” and plug in there? The amp says “line input only or you will damage your equipment.” I don’t know what that means. Thanks for your help!

2. mmbongo

mmbongo Regular Human Bartender Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    Hello and welcome to TalkBass!

Quickest and easiest answers to your questions:

1) NO, you cannot connect a line out from the extension speaker jack. This is an amplified output meant for a passive extension cabinet. Which leads to....

2) All you need is a passive 8 ohm bass cabinet.

3. mmbongo

mmbongo Regular Human Bartender Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
  4. According to these pictures, Strawberry blonde has these outputs:
    - Effects Send
    - Tuner Send
    - Balanced Line out (XLR)
    All of these can be used as line outs. If by WP 10 you mean SWR WorkingPro 10 100W 1x10 Bass Combo, you can plug any of these outputs to 'input' on the WP10.