Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can you seperate instruments from an existing file?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by protoz, Feb 8, 2005.

1. protoz

protoz

Nov 30, 2000
    Iowa
    Hey there, I'm new to digital recording and I was curious to see if there were any programs that can read an mp3 and seperate the instruments into seperate tracks for editing.

I've played with the Audition 1.5 trial and all I have gotten was the vocals reduced but not eliminated with the remove center channel button.

Thanks.

2. Droog

Droog

Aug 14, 2003
    PDX
    NO.

3. protoz

protoz

Nov 30, 2000
    Iowa
    well alrighty then. I couldn't find anything in the search so I thought I'd ask to make sure.

4. Droog

Droog

Aug 14, 2003
    PDX
    Sorry, I was in a hurry. Seperating instruments from already mixed audio is like seperating the eggs from a baked cake. Your ears can differentiate between different instruments and sounds, but gear can't, analog or digital, its all just a huge complex waveform to them. Some gear claims to be able to remove vocals from a stereo source (Karaoke) but its a bunch a of crap. They use funky phase cancellation to cancel out stuff that is panned staight up the middle. So it basically muffles the vocals, and makes the whole mix sound like ass espesially kick and snare.