1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can you tell me about this DB?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Barbaric.Eric, Feb 2, 2019.

1. Hey gang,
    A family friend is purging some things and part of that purge is a double bass that's being offered for really cheap. I know it's not anything special, but are any of you guys able to tell me about this (good things, bad things, areas that will need repair, overall size, brand, general info)?

Image-6.jpg

I've already asked ahead and I literally have no info other than this one photo, no stickers, no stamps, nil. And I have zero knowledge beyond electric basses so I don't really know what I'm looking at here.

I've always wanted to try double bass so maybe this would be a good foot in the door since they can get very expensive, very quick when purchasing from a music shop but I also don't have much space in my current home (a basement) so I can't just be buying this just because it's available.

Thanks in advance,
    E

2. What ever it is, it’s got vibe man. Looks beautiful. Even with that odd stain on the belly.

zon6c-f and Barbaric.Eric like this.
  3. If you can’t see it in person, (preferably with a double-bass player with you), my advice would be to leave it alone!

Even if it was free and had no major issues, the cost of making it playable and not an ornament might be hundreds of dollars more than it’s worth.

Just my 2 cents

4. It's definitely unique. I've never seen such a light wood used on a DB, it almost looks unstained (aside from the stain you mentioned haha). Thanks for chiming in :)

DonaldFraser likes this.