1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Carlo Robelli 300 series?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by IconBasser, Sep 25, 2008.

1. IconBasser

IconBasser Scuba Viking Supporting Member

Feb 28, 2007
    Fontana, California
    SamAsh sells it. Carlo Robelli 300 series 3/4 double bass, $999

any experience with this bass?

I'm strapped for cash, and will be going to college next year as a music composition major, in which my performance instrument will be double bass. I've been playing my high school's double bass for a few years now.

This one is cheap, but I have no idea as to the quality. Should I scrap the idea and save a bit more for an engelhardt or something?

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    Scrap the idea, save up for something better. You have a number of fine choices.

3. robgrow

robgrow Supporting Member

May 1, 2004
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I've seen a couple of the C. Robelli 300 basses at Sam Ash that were completely unplayable. Another one I saw had a major structural failure. I'd definitely scrap the idea and look elsewhere.

4. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    see the thread on thompson basses in this forum... MAJOR difference for @$300

LF

5. drurb

Apr 17, 2004
    As I said earlier, you have a number of fine choices. See post #4 and #5 right here.

6. joel kelsey

joel kelsey

Aug 1, 2006
    Chicago, IL