Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Clarus vs. Noisy bands

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Balaclava Lewis, Feb 28, 2006.

1. Hello friends,
    Ive browsed many of the related threads but cant locate any that help me directly. So ill start a new one. hope you don't mind.

Im fairly new to the upright, just a few months old and have my eye on an AI Clarus. Problem is, the double bass only acounts for maybe 1/2 of my playing. Elsewhere i play electric bass in a seven piece, fairly punky very noisy band with an incredibly aggressive drummer. Question is, would the Clarus be up for this task? Im a poor student still trying to scrape together the cash for my own DB, so if this little box could succeed on both fronts it would save me a pretty penny.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

much and many thanks.

2. At $699, you may find a more suitable Amp in a used GK or similar Amp. The clarus is a high-fi little box, and, IMO the sound is NOT designed for a thrash band.

3. christ andronis

christ andronis

Nov 14, 2001
    Chicago
    +1

...nice little head...but not up to the volume needed for thrash...

4. Alright,
    Thanks very much, thats all i need to know. Any other suggestions gladly received. thanks again.

5. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY