Complete Beginner Needing Help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dream, Jun 26, 2004.

1. Dream

Jun 26, 2004
    I'm going to start playing bass, but I have a couple questions.

1.) What would be a quality bass ( For a beginner ) in the $100 price range?

2.) Since I have no experience whatsoever on bass, should I take some lessons? What do bass lessons usually start with? Reading music, etc?

I would really appreciate the help. Thanks a lot.
  2. fatbassjazzer

Feb 27, 2004
    Search in the basses forum. There are a ton of threads regarding this.
  3. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    1)About the only new bass I'm aware of that goes for $100 is a Rogue. Rogue is cheap crap. You should save up atleast $200 and get a Squier or Ibanez. Check Ebay, I bet you could get a Mexican Fender for $200ish.

2)Lessons certainly won't hurt but are far from necessary. I just bought a book and learned basic music theory (You really don't need to get deep into it), got some tabs and played along to records when I first started.

It's all about how much time you're willing to spend with it. It's different for everybody. Bass gives back whatever you put into it.
  4. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ
    hell while we're at it, we should just do away with basses forum...

dream, this is going to get moved/closed/deleted... so next time, just search man.. and go to the forum where you have the question

edit: just browse these results for a while... you'll find something...

beginner search
  5. I would really recomend that you save that extra cash and shoot for around $200-$250. That is in my opinion where the best new beginner basses start to become apparent. most basses less than that aren't worth the money in my opinion. sorry.