1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Complete noob question

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by zagnut, Mar 25, 2009.

1. zagnut

zagnut

Jan 4, 2009
    Back in Detroit
    Hi guys. I've always been intrigued by uprights (oh the beauty and sound!) and would love to get one. However, I have a couple of questions.

These are silly questions to some of you I'm sure, but I don't have a clue.

What is the difference between a cello, an upright and a double bass?

What does 3/4 and 4/4 mean in the descriptions of these beautiful instruments?

2. Dogbertday

Dogbertday Commercial User

Jul 10, 2007
    SE Wisconsin
    Blaine Music LLC
    An upright bass for all intensive purposes is the same as a double bass... which is the same as a string bass... which is the same as a doghouse...

wikipedia cello and look at tuning, range, size, etc. It's a completely different instrument than a bass.

3/4 and 4/4 are approximate instrument sizes 3/4 seems to be the standard

3. Zag,

A double bass is played by orchestra players and serious jazz cats.

An upright bass is played by bluegrass and rockabilly players.

If you saw pictures of the two, you might think they look a lot alike. Because they do. They are the same instrument.

(Before the flames start, I am aiming a self-deprecating dig at myself and no one else. I am primarily a bluegrass player and I call my instrument an upright bass.)

4. Bass Barrister

Bass Barrister

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago
    "Upright Bass", "Double Bass". "String Bass", "Bass Violin", and "Contrabass" are all names used to describe the same instrument. There are others as well.