1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Could anybody sugguest some cheap pedals?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by IStoleYourCar, Jan 4, 2012.

1. IStoleYourCar

IStoleYourCar

Jan 2, 2012
    I'm just getting into pedals and was wonding if there were any out there that, for being a cheap pedal, have at least decent sound to them. I'm not looking for anything too fancy, maybe just a distortion and a bass booster.

Thanks!

2. When I was experimenting with pedals, I found the Behringer and Danelectro lines a great, inexpensive place to start.

After many years, I still use a few of those.

3. Dan-O Daddy-O(old, metal box)for OD; Bad Monkey for boost(or OD). I have had good results w/old DOD pedals- cheap & common.

4. smogg

smogg

Mar 27, 2007
    NPR, Florida
    I'm not crazy, I'm just a little unwell
    yes, This ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

5. IStoleYourCar

IStoleYourCar

Jan 2, 2012
    Wow! The Danelectos are incredibly cheap! Thanks for the suggestion!

6. No problem.

Now, you'll need to do a little research before you spring for even a cheap pedal. If they are not designed specifically for bass, some of them can suck the low end out of your signal. It depends on the effect. Behringer makes a budget line just for bass guitar. So, even though you're only spending $20.00 or whatever, read up on the pedal and see what other BASS players have to say before you buy it.

7. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    The Behringer BDI-21 and the Dano Fab Echo.
    The BDI is well-loved here even by most of the B haters.
    The Dano is real cheap, and I thing it is great for a bit of slap echo. Oh, and it has the famous blue LED.