1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

D-ROCK Triclops 3-string

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Delta_Petra, Feb 27, 2008.

1. Delta_Petra

Delta_Petra

Feb 26, 2008
    Portland, OR
    Hello Everybody,

I am new to TalkBass.com, but have been playing bass for 8 years now. I have had a number of basses throughout the years, but with the end of my p-bass I have decided to rebuild.

Many people have been interested in extending the range of the bass guitar by adding more and more strings. I decided to go the other route. I have made plans and am reworking my old Squier p-bass into a 3-string. My plan is to have the B, E, and A strings. Currently I am chipping the layers from the body and plan on cutting down the head to my own design.

Any advice during this process would be awesome and I am glad to be a part of this community.

2. grace & groove

grace & groove

Nov 30, 2005
    philly
    Self-Appointed Ambassador to the Dragonfly
    Welcome to the forum! Tons of information here. You should definitely read all the stickies here in the Luthier's Corner and all of the links in them. So much to learn.

3. Darkstrike

Darkstrike Return Of The King!

Sep 14, 2007
    Cool, hope it works out for ya!

4. Worshiper

Worshiper

Aug 13, 2004
    New York
    Welcome... don't forget to post progress pics :D

5. Delta_Petra

Delta_Petra

Feb 26, 2008
    Portland, OR
    So here is what I am starting with...

bassresize1.

bassresize2.

bassresize4.

bassresize3.

Now it isn't very impressive, especially after the wear I have put it through. I have been sanding down the neck and chipping the old paint away lately, so I will have those pictures up sometime.

6. Delta_Petra

Delta_Petra

Feb 26, 2008
    Portland, OR
    Just to show that I have been working on it, here are some stripped pics...

P3030009.

P3030010.

P3030012.