1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

D'Addario Chromes, Med or Lights?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by BassBeginer64, Aug 9, 2018.

1. Newbie here, going over my used P bass, strings were worthless, and been going nuts on You Tube and decided to with D'Addario Chromes Flat Wound, either lights or meds love to hear your thoughts.

Thank you .
    Frank

Albert Henri likes this.
  2. Custom Lights ECB84 40-60-80-100.

I personally find the regular lights (ECB81, 45-65-80-100) very uneven in tension with G and D being a little too tense.

piggywiddle, kreider204 and InnerBass like this.
  3. That is why I was thinking of the Med Gauges 50-70-85-105.
    Been watching and listening to many vids on this , like these

4. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I have no desire to torture myself with strings. The lighter, the better. When I was using Chromes I made up my own sets out of singles using 40, 55, 75 and 95 gauges because this gave me light strings with the most even tension. I always disliked the D string in prepackaged D'addario string sets because they were too tense compared to the others.

5. Aidil

Aidil

Dec 4, 2014
    Jkt, IDN
    Yeah... OP, have you ever tried the Chromes ECB82 Medium Gauge 50-70-85-105?

I used to play Chromes ECB81 Regular Light Gauge 45-65-80-100 on a couple 6 string basses (with 132 low-B and 32 high-C) and later on a couple of 5 string basses. These were very stiff. I could imagine the Medium Gauge would be very torturing, at least for me, to play.

These days I prefer customize set of Chromes, same as JimmyM, 40-55-75-95 (and add 132 for low-B).

michael_t likes this.
  6. BLDavis

BLDavis Old enough to know better.....too young to care! Supporting Member

May 21, 2009
    Ellenboro, NC