1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Defretting TIPS

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by MurvintheWalrus, Feb 21, 2008.

1. MurvintheWalrus

MurvintheWalrus

Sep 21, 2007
    HI, FIRST LUTHIER Post, and i am a newb. The only adds to a bass was a chrome bridge cover on a fender jazz. Anyway, i am thinking about buying a 5 string fretted (Spectr Classic 5 or Wasburn Taurus 5) and just read the making lined fretless post (very helpful thanks) and a guy mentioned defretting. Anytips, without going insane Jaco on the beautiful new fretboard.

2. uethanian

uethanian

Mar 11, 2007
    i started a similar project recently...

first get some painters tape on all the fingerboard between the frets. it can hold done some wood chips that would normally come out.

u can heat up the fret with a soldering pen, but it really depends on the make of the neck. if the frets are glued, the pen will really help, and if they're not, at least it will make the fret softer and easier to pull.

DONT do what i did: wedge a small screwdriver or pick under the fret and wiggle it up

DO this: get a pair of end nippers, and grind them if they are not perfectly flush, and then u can grab underneath the edge of the fret and lift across the board.

3. fookgub

fookgub

Jun 5, 2005
    Houston, TX
    ^^^ what he said

Also, if it's a maple fretboard, score the finish around the frets with a straight razor. Go slowly when pulling out the frets. Try to chip out as little wood as possible (some will chip out inevitably, but you can minimize it). Once the frets are out, clean the slots (I use a .23" kerf saw from stewmac), and glue in the veneer of your choice. Then it's business as usual, level the fretboard and apply finish if it needs it.