Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Different musical direction than my band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by RicPlaya, Nov 15, 2004.

1. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    The singer in my band has many issues, attitude, and bad vocals to boot. He has this impression that we will get signed. He feels we should play cliche rock tunes that cater to the young crowd. I felt that this muscial direction was boring. I have been playing bass for two years and root notes with 3 note rock diddys don't really challenge me. Two of my other band mates now come to realize that they want to grow (drummer, guitar) and this isn't the way to go. I want to get into, jazz, blues, swing, classic rock stuff that is challenging and has a market in my area. Today is my 30th B day, and I see these guys my age or older rockin our rock covers at the bars competing with these young kids for gigs. Then I go into a blues bar, upscale places with $6.00 drinks, I know those bands are getting good paying gigs. I just want to be well rounded, have options and outlets in my playing. I want to play music that will teach me things, not stuff I can listen to on the radio and just play after 3 minutes. I guess I am at a crossroads with this band, I know 3 of the 4 guys in this band want to grow and not just be a teenage heartthrob band. It has to do with a lot of things, bad attitudes and different thought processes. I want to be a musician not a "poser". Greenday is cool but I know I can do better then that! I know if we all can't agree on where and what we want to do with this band it may disband. It is worth it to me to be in this for the right reasons, to be a well rounded musician. Has anyone else came to this realisation? Sorry for the rambling, but it seems bass players have good insights on these issues (and level heads) and I just wanted to hear some othe