DIY Cabs--Source for plans, components, etc.?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by emor, Jul 24, 2004.

1. emor

May 16, 2004
    I have spent some time checking out amp manufacturer's websites and doing some searching in the TB archives and have come to the conclusion that buying a complete (quality) rig that is powerful enough to play with a band is a bit out of my budget at this time.

My thought now is to buy the head, and the components for the speaker cab and build the cab myself.

I am a cabinetmaker by profession, (but don't know much about the science of speaker cabinet design) so building the cab is no problem as long as I have a drawing to work from.

I would appreciate any suggestions for books, websites, etc., where I might find general info on cab design, and specific plans to work from. As with a lot of players, I'm looking for the biggest sound from the smallest possible package. (I am really intrigued by the Schroeder 21012--is it really comparable to an 18"?)

I am also looking for sources to purchase speakers (and hardware) as well as reviews, comparisons and recommendations.

2. K-Frog

Feb 6, 2002
    Camden, AR, USA
    You'll find a good assortment of cab handles, corners, jackplates, etc. at

3. Try this site:

Also get a Parts Express catalog Their site is very good and they have all the parts you need.

Get "The Loudspeaker Design Cookbook" (Parts Express sells them). Also they have a book on speaker projects for musicians, forgot the exact title.

Download WinISD (shareware) to help model cabinets.

Since you already must have a pretty good shop, you may be able to save a few dollars over used, but IMHO it won't be a huge savings. Plywood, feet, corners, carpet, glue, grills, handles, ports, jacks and jack plates, they all add up. And of course there's the time factor. (If you build cabinets already though, it won't take you as much time as somebody who's just learning how a table saw works)
  4. emor

May 16, 2004