1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Do Ampeg and Hartke play well together?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Nimiety, Jul 18, 2008.

1. Nimiety

Nimiety

Jul 18, 2008
    Hi y'all - 1st time poster, long time reader. (Had to be said.)

I have been playing for around 20 years (oh God I'm old), but I've been a little out of touch for the past 5-10 years+ due to moving, getting married, and having a few offspring, but I'm starting to get back into the swing of things. What I've noticed is that I've gotten really out of touch with what's good, what's not, and what works.

I'd sold my Trace Elliot head, my Peavey Mark IV and 2x15, etc a long time ago, and I've just picked up an Ampeg SVT III Pro to start things off again. (I got outbid on a Trace GP12 SMX preamp which would have been my initial first choice because of the built in crossover and compression, but I think the tone of the Ampeg will be superior). I think it will have a good sound for my taste, and the reviews here and elsewhere are obviously positive, but I'm a little stuck on the cabinets.

I've placed an order at my local music store (Steve's Music in Ottawa) for a set of Hartke 115XL and 410XL - back in the day, they had a strong punchy bright tone which I think I would like, and I think it could work well with the smoothness of the SVT. Plus, they won't break my back moving them around - I know the Ampeg 810 is an awesome wall of sound, but even on sale it may be a few hundred more then the Hartkes, and at 165 pounds.... I don't know.

All of this is being played by an older Ibanez Roadstar series II - good enough for me for the past while. :)

First question: has anyone used this combination together (Ampeg SVT 3 Pro + 115XL + 410XL, or even just Ampeg and Hartke)? Did they work well together?