Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do different pre-amps produce different sounds!?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Anon2962, Nov 26, 2004.

1. Anon2962

Anon2962

Aug 4, 2004
    I have rently ordered the 'realist' pick up, and have decided to get a pre amp. i have never used a preamp before. I hear good things about K&K, and saw that they can be fitted to the tailpiece (bob gollihur), which looks nifty. But do different preamps have different sounds?

I play a nice old german carved bass, and use a swr workingmans 15"amp.

Any advice please?

2. AMJBASS

AMJBASS Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2002
    Ontario, Canada
    You won't need a preamp with the Realist. It usually sounds just great going straight into the amp.

3. Anon2962

Anon2962

Aug 4, 2004
    Oh really? I heard of some people having problems without a preamp, but i'll give it a go without, thanks adrian.

4. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Can't completely agree with Adrian on this one. First, I don't think the Realist sounds great at all, but that's a subjective thing. Otherwise, I think that preamps can be useful if the sound of the pickup has aspects that you don't care for - when this happens, a preamp can help to tame those things you might not like. I would advise seeing how you feel about the pickup, then trying a preamp if you think the signal is unbalanced one way or another.

5. bucephylus

bucephylus Supporting Member Commercial User

Aug 18, 2002
    General Manager TecPadz LLC