Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do I have what it takes to be a teacher?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by csholtmeier, Nov 3, 2004.

1. csholtmeier

csholtmeier

Feb 8, 2004
    omaha, ne
    I'm beginning to wonder if I have what it takes to be a bass teacher. I have been playing for 13 years, in various bands. I don't want this too sound vain, but every time I come off the stage I get a handful of people that tell me what a great musician I am. I have a solid foundation in theory and solid knowledge of various musical styles and techniques.

What does it take to get started and what would be a good book to teach from? Any suggestions from current or past teachers would be greatly appreciated.

2. dodgy_ian

dodgy_ian

Apr 9, 2001
    Newcastle, UK
    I'm not convinced on some levels that you have to be the greatest musician alive to teach, in fact I think it requires a lot more people skills then perhaps people asume.

I've been teaching for three years now and I love it - I'm far from the best player, but I understand my theory, know how the bass works as an instrument and also have patience and the ability to take things real slow. To be honest you prob don't need a book, just a blank pad or a copy of sibelius and then you can make up your own syllabus/learning plan. good thing is you can reuse it with other people. Also if your not 100% confident in your abilities then only take on a few beginners, see how it goes and take it from there.

Chances are if you're teaching yourng kids, a lot of them will want to play punk/metal/not too crazily complicated stuff so you can start them on their way.

Also remember, the best teachers are those that faciliate rather than dictate - don't tell thm what to play, just give them the tools (technique and theory) and then see where it takes them (perhaps some direction will be needed at times!).