Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do I need a second speaker cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Sep 26, 2005.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    I just recently put together my first medium sized rig - a Trace Elliot AH250 and an Eden D210XLT. (8 ohm) I figured that this will give me room to grow, as I can always add an 8 ohm 115 to get the full wattage out of my amp and another speaker - but I couldn't justify it for "at home" use. Well, I finally got a chance to play with a band on Saturday, and I loved my rig - it sounded great. I had a great time with these guys, and I was asked to come back. So, it looks like I'm joining the band. I think that my rig is probably adequate for playing with these guys, but they are pretty loud. In the rehearsal space I got my master volume up to 7 1/2 and was told that I sounded pretty good, but I could have turned up more. (so next time I will) They plan to gig as soon as I get their set list down. So, if I'm thinking that if we'll be playing out, and I'm practicing with my master volume at about 8 - I might need the additional head room to gig with these guys. Does this sound like a legitimate need, or just another case of GAS?

2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    Sorry for the long post - short version: Practicing with volume at 75% - Do I need more power (head room?) to go play a gig? This is my first band, working towards my first gig so this is s real question. All opinions appreciated. Thanks.

3. jacostilllives

jacostilllives

May 4, 2004
    what i was always told was if you are turning the master past 50% you need more watts. Adding another cab will make you seem louder. Is your gain turned up? How many watts is your amp? We need more info.

4. Jack

Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK