Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

do schecters suck?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Formula, Jul 16, 2005.

1. Formula

Formula

Jul 12, 2005
    Greenwood, SC
    specifically the c4...i was playing around with one in GC yesterday, and it sounded pretty nice to me. real bright tone, wide tone range, fun to slap around on...the only thing i noticed that i didnt like was one of the knobs was sticking, like it had been forced too far down.

anyway, would a schecter c4 be a good buy for a lower-intermediate player for right at $500?

2. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    If you like it, why do you need to ask us if they suck? Also, Schecters have been discussed MANY times. Do a search.

3. Formula

Formula

Jul 12, 2005
    Greenwood, SC
    well i'm still pretty new to basses...and i guess i was more curious about build quality, etc etc.

i should have done a search though. m'escuzzi.

4. I played on a C4 before, and i wasnt to much of a fan of them. I also had a a Stilletto sitting next to me, of which I was a fan of. I liked the shape better (ergonomically) it didnt have those, IMO, stupid vector inlays, and just overall, felt better, and to me, played better. I'm not sure which stilletto it was, but it was around 500-600.

Im not too sure why I did like the stillettos sound better, I think its build sheet is pretty close to the C4s... hmmm...

~Ryan

5. lefty007

lefty007

Jan 19, 2004
    Miami, FL
    I would say, yes, Schecters are a great buy.

I have had a couple in the past and my main problem with them was neck dive, because obviously the body was too light. Otherwise for the money, they are very good: nice sound, nice construction, excellent fretwork.