Does this P bass really has a nitro finish?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dr Mark, Oct 9, 2011.

1. Dr Mark

Dr Mark

Nov 2, 2010
  2. I'm no expert but as far as I remember, and from what I can see in the photos, it's a poly finish.

This series of bass was only available and I think only the Custom Shop versions ('55 RI I think) come with nitro finish. Also in one of the picture you can see where the finish has cracked off. From my experience, Nitro dings but is less prone to parts flaking off, which has been common on my poly basses.

As per usual, YMMV.

3. Dr Mark

Dr Mark

Nov 2, 2010
    Hm yeah, I'm thinking the same thing. That ding in particular looks like thick poly to me

DSC_3252.gif

4. yeah, that was the picture I referred to. I dropped one of my cheap P basses with a poly finish and a huge chunk came out of the arm rest.

By all means it's a good bass, if the poly finish isn't a deal breaker for you, though I feel it's a little steep for the condition it's in (what do I know, I'm Australian).

5. I own one of those Japanese 51's and can tell you that while it's a little transparent, it ain't nitro -- wish it was.

6. Dr Mark

Dr Mark

Nov 2, 2010
    Good to know. I agree it's very steep, I wonder what makes them think it has a nitro finish.

7. king_biscuit

king_biscuit

May 21, 2006
    US
    It's polyurethane.

8. Bongolation

Bongolation

Nov 9, 2001
    California
    No Bogus Endorsements
    Ignorance. Dishonesty.

Pick one or both.

9. Dr Mark

Dr Mark

Nov 2, 2010
    Thanks so much guys, I won't be buying it

10. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Not nitro, but you know that by now.