Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Double Stops

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by guillermo, Jan 7, 2005.

1. guillermo

guillermo

Oct 1, 2004
    Hi:

I'm relatively new to Jazz theory and I'm in the process of learning intervals, scales, arpegios etc via the exercises in Ray Brown's book.
    There are some exercises called "Double Stops ....". And,
    on this months Bass Player magazine there's a Dave Holland solo transcription for wich the analisys says "look a the Double Stop on bar....".

What is a Double Stop ?

Thanks a lot
    Guillermo

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    A double stop is more than one note played simultaneously...a common example would the root and the tenth, but it could be any two notes of a given chord. A triple stop would be the same thing with three notes.

3. Steve Brooks

Steve Brooks

Jan 6, 2005
    upstate ny
    A double stop is the process of playing two bass notes at the same time. A triple stop would be three notes. They are simply meant to imply a chord.

4. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Technically, two notes at once = double stop and three notes at once = chord. However, since you can't play as many notes at once on bass as you can on guitar or keys, most players will just use two notes (double stop) or three notes (triple stop) to imply the larger chord that's happening harmonically at the moment.

For instance, if the chord you want to imply is Am, you can play the double stop of A and C (the minor 3). But if the chord is Am7, you may want to play the triple stop of A, C, and G (the minor 7).

And remember that you don't have to play them from the root up. You can play wider voicings with these intervals, which also helps the notes speak more clearly.

5. guillermo

guillermo

Oct 1, 2004
    Thanks , I see them now, all arround the place

Thanks a lot