1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Double thumb

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bassking09, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Bassking09

Bassking09

Mar 23, 2009
    Hello fellow bass enthusiasts! I've been playing bass about 4-5 years now, mainly self taught aside from the extreme basics like "this is an e string the fifth fret is an a" etc... I've taught myself to slap cleanly and quickly without sounding like jumbled garbage. Now I'm looking to learn the double thumb technique, I've seen a few videos on it and it just doesn't feel quite right the way I'm doing it. If there is anyone knowledgeable about the technique reading, any explanation and conversation about it would help I'm sure. Thanks

2. santucci218

santucci218

Jan 26, 2007
    Pittsburgh
    this video helped me a lot.

3. Mesa XI

Mesa XI

Feb 25, 2009
    I've been trying to figure that out, it's just not consistant with my general technique so I gave it up. I figure it's not worth changing the way I play to learn

4. quale213

quale213

Sep 17, 2008
    Pittsburgh
    The only way to learn it is to practice the motion for what seems like forever, and then a little more. I would just sit and watch a movie and do the motion over and over and over again. The song I learned it with was "Power" by Marcus Miller. He does a quick pentatonic blues scale to open the song where he is doubling. Just dont give up and you will get it down.

5. Absentia

Absentia

Feb 25, 2009
    sit on the porch with a beer and do scales with it to the tune of a metronome.
    There are many ways to do it play around and find your own way of doing it.

personally I'm working on the *pop* on the up stroke.

6. +1