1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Downgrading my amp, but what to?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jobiebass, Apr 28, 2009.

1. Jobiebass

Jobiebass

Feb 25, 2008
    Ive currently got a Marshall vba400 full valve head with 412 Marshall VBC cab.
    I love it, I love the tone and I love how it looks.

The biggest problem is the head, in its fight case it weighs around 7 stone. And the other thing is I really dont need something that loud as im not giging at the moment. I really need to find something more portable and compact for just taking to the practice room etc.

Ive tried Ashdown head/cab, im not a fan. I still want a 412cab I think.

Any Suggestions?
    Any help would be great, im a noob when it comes to amps/cabs.

Thanks

2. Jobiebass

Jobiebass

Feb 25, 2008
    I should really state what I want out of it, I play mainly with a Modulus Flea bass, sometimes a Stingray. I play indy/funk/rock.

Thanks.

3. dog1

dog1

Dec 30, 2008
    Indiana
    Have you considered trying one of the newer lightweight heads? I have heads by Genz Benz and Eden that are excellent performers, and very light. As for your 412, maybe you could consider two 212 cabs instead. (I really like my Aguilar 212 and Genz Benz 212)

4. sk8

sk8

May 10, 2007
    United Kingdom
    What about the Berg NV412? or go modular with 212 or 2 112s

5. if you are looking for something cheap go for the behringer stuff
    or for portability theres a light weight head from GK and genz benz

6. Jobiebass

Jobiebass

Feb 25, 2008
    I was looking at the Aguilar 212, what are they like to own? had any problems with them? whats the tone like?

thanks

7. Jobiebass

Jobiebass

Feb 25, 2008