1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Education question.

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Zarathustrah, Aug 22, 2012.

1. Zarathustrah

Zarathustrah

Apr 21, 2009
    I'm a working jazz musician, however I've started accepting some entry level bass students who are interested in pursuing orchestra at their school.

I'm just curious what method book do you generally use with your students who are entry level players?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. MostlyBass

MostlyBass

Mar 3, 2002
    Oak Park, IL
    Public school: Essential Elements and Practical Studies by Thomas Gale

Private Studio: Practical Studies, Simandl (in tolerable doses), étude book like Sturm or Storch, and whatever the student may be using in school or other lessons

3. Zarathustrah

Zarathustrah

Apr 21, 2009
    That's exactly what I'm looking for.

Thanks a ton.

4. MostlyBass

MostlyBass

Mar 3, 2002
    Oak Park, IL
    Glad I could help!

5. chicagodoubler

chicagodoubler Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2007
    Chicago, that toddling town
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland, Genz Benz
    The Vance books are held in high regard for these purposes. I've had good results with Rabbath 1 with serious minded high school students. With the attention spans of most young kids these days though, Simandl doesn't show up on the stand until they display a high level of dedication.

6. MostlyBass

MostlyBass

Mar 3, 2002
    Oak Park, IL
    You should definitely familiarize yourself with the Vance book. Oh - and I also use Suzuki books for the solos.