1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Effect pedals in jazz music

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by jadenjazz, Jul 25, 2012.

1. jadenjazz

jadenjazz Supporting Member

Oct 23, 2010
    Indianapolis, IN
    Hi... I've been playing bass for about 20 years but I'm just now getting into building a nice pedal board. I play mostly jazz standards 85% of the time and rock the other 15%. My question is this: Are there any pedals that I should be getting that compliment the "jazz standard scene" or is just plain and simple with no effects the best way to go? (I already have the mxr m-87 comp and the boss ceb-3 bass chorus.) Thanks!

2. I've been a rock bassist for about 10 years and always used a pedalboard. I recently joined a jazz standards band and I'm fairly surprised by how many of my pedals i still use regularly.

Mainly, my Tech 21 VT bass is on to add a bit more warmth to my Hartke LH500. Tone shaping pedals can work wonders in any genre.

I also freaking love using my EHX Bass Microsynth. Adds a whole new funky dimension to playing Chemeleon or Cissy Strut.

Browse around, they're are lots of very funky options in the effects world outside of saturated occilating fuzz (though it can be hard to admit sometimes). Chorus, envelope filters and octive effects can all do wonders with jazz.

3. Dignan81

Dignan81

Feb 17, 2005
    St. Louis, MO
    the thing with jazz to me is that it's all about pushing the boundaries of music. sonic crafting and experimentation is nothing new in jazz. bassists are no exception. But as with almost all genres of music you generally want to make sure you are keeping the low end intact and holding down the groove.