Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Effects beginner

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bboy, Feb 23, 2004.

1. bboy

bboy

Feb 23, 2004
    I have recently joined a band. Cliff Burton is one of my main influences and it will be Metallica and other such music that we will be playing. I was wondering if I should I invest in an effects pedal and if so do you have any advice on what kind to get. Bear in mind that I have no previous knowledge of bass effects.
    I know this question might be a bit vague considering the range of effects available but which would I use most. Thanks in advance.

2. Electricmayhem

Electricmayhem

Dec 18, 2003
    NH
    Cliff used a Big Muff and Morley Power Wah. This is all I know. :bag:

3. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    If Cliff is such an influence, you should look into a Big Muff, it's a nice overdrive that I've sworn by for years. Bear in mind, Cliff used a Sovtek Big Muff, the American Reissue Big Muff has a warmer tone, is true bypass (meaning it won't suck tone from your signal while the unit is off) and only costs about $10.00 more. As far as bass, overdrive is just about a simple as effect as you can get, before getting into modulation, filters, and delays, which tend to be seldom used.

4. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    I can hook you up with a deal on a sweet overdrive box from BOSS. It's fun to mess around with. Check out the for sale forum.

-Mike

5. bboy

bboy

Feb 23, 2004
    Thanks mj, but I think I`ll stick with the big muff. My friend used to have one and he highly recommends it too. tplyons, does the colour have anything to do with the pedal?
    Only I`ve seen silver ones and black ones. Is the black one the Russian one?

6. wingnutkj

wingnutkj

Mar 27, 2003
    Scotland