1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Envelope Filter with Good Sensitivity?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Charley Umbria, May 16, 2012.

1. Charley Umbria

Charley Umbria I'm Really a Drummer Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2011
    Rock City, TN
    I'm looking for an envelope filter that'll play nicely with my P-Bass. I had a 3Leaf Proton for a while and, while I loved the sound, I could never get the "quack" I wanted out of the pedal (see Spencer's demo video for excellent quackiness, BTW). My P-Bass has flats wounds and passive Fralin pups, which aren't super hot, but they're not wimpy, either.

I just need something for basic Bootsy/`70's funk/pop sounds. I won't be doing any crazy synth or dub stuff. I'd also like to stay in a "standard" single-sized box (which rules out the GR2, Q-Balls, and a few others).

Any recommendations? Are there any envelope filters known for having higher input sensitivity?

BassDuex likes this.
  2. mmbongo

mmbongo Regular Human Bartender Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    MXR Bass Envelope Filter. Search over.

I've gone through a Q-Tron, a Proton, and an EBS BassIQ, none of them quack like the MXR. Not sure how it would work with flats, though. The more high mids you have, the better an envelope filter works.

3. Bassmike62

Bassmike62 Punch'n Ooomph provider Supporting Member

+ 1

The thing can quack from here 'til Tuesday. I think the manual also suggests a Bootsy setting. Very tweakable pedal.

4. Vlad5

Vlad5 Chronic Knob Twiddling Tone Chaser

Feb 17, 2011
    New England
    I had good luck with the Boomstick Bottom Feeder (super quacky), though they are impossible to find these days. The remake of them is the Mojo Hand FX Analogue Filter 442 (same company, new name, higher price).