1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EQ pedal with active EQ on bass

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by placedesjardins, Dec 21, 2016.

1. placedesjardins

placedesjardins

May 7, 2012
    I have an Ibanez SR1400 and playing it through a TC Electronics BH250.
    So, I have active EQ available on the bass, plus EQ on the amp, bass, mid, and treble.

Does anyone else triple up on EQ'ing by adding an EQ pedal?
    I'm looking at the MXR M81 bass preamp pedal, Boss GEB-7 bass equalizer pedal, and Aguilar Tone Hammer Preamp pedal.

I might sound ignorant or stupid (I mainly play guitar but play bass guitar and am self taught) but I am thinking I will be able to get an even more scooped sound like that of Wayman Tisdale without buying a $4,000+ custom bass guitar and/or high-end amp by adding an EQ pedal in the signal path. Or, is adding a pedal going to be negligible when the active EQ and amp's EQ are dialed in to scoop the mids.

2. hztjtao

hztjtao

Sep 29, 2016
    I think the pedal and onboard eq will give different boost or cut character . This is because both of them have different eq frequency center. I use both on my simple setup.

3. AndyLES

AndyLES

Aug 25, 2008
    New York
    With the TC and the active bass pre, you should be able to dial in more than enough scoop as to not need another EQ.

4. The advantage to adding an EQ pedal to your setup is the ability to instantly switch between two preset sounds (or more depending on the capabilities of the pedal, ie dual channel or MFX etc).

If you've dialled in the sweet spot on both your bass' EQ and your amp's EQ, then you don't want to mess that up for a song's bridge in hopes that, after the bridge and back into the verse, you can dial back in the sweet spot... precisely... without losing a beat or flubbing a note.