1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EUB prototype

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by radii, Mar 8, 2008.

1. radii

radii

Feb 16, 2007
    I usually "hang around" the Luthier's corner, but thought that I would post my DIY-EUB over here :)

Not everything came out the way wanted it to ( bridge for example ), but overall, it satisfies my upright needs.

The pickup is abunch of Piezo tabs pressed against the bridge. Far from elegant, but cheap (2$ a piece) and good sounding, even bowed. I'll work on a sound sample, if so desired ... ( I am NOT an upright bass player by trade :smug: )

more pics ...

and some more

Attached Files:

2. MyUsernameHere

MyUsernameHere ?????????????

Nov 3, 2007
    Lexington KY
    Looks great. What wood did you use for the fingerboard?

3. radii

radii

Feb 16, 2007
    Padauk

4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    I really like the lines of the curves and their pointy intersections. Classy yet metal \m/. The rear view of the headstock is especially tight. I'm curious, what was it about the bridge that isn't quite right?

5. Lovely work! Simple basic design but nicely refined details.
    Did you try putting piezos under the bridge foot? I found that much more successful on a solid-body than trying to attach them to the bridge.

6. radii

radii

Feb 16, 2007
    I originally envisioned a bridge that was much more slender at the top, with piezo tabs under the bridge feet.
    But due to the relatively sharp angle at which the strings break over the bridge and the resulting pull towards the fingerboard, a thin and slender bridge was just giving in and distorting under the string pull. It didn't seem to affect the sound acoustically that much, if anything, but just didn't feel kosher.