Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Examples of modal scales in songs?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by canopener, Oct 28, 2003.

1. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    Ok, let me preface this post by saying I did do a search, and I did my own research on modes, I just have an additional question:
    Are ther any songs that show use of scales? I'm pretty much self-taught (I suppose you can call members of the TalkBass community my instructors ;) )...
    I've read the threads below about tying it all together, etc but I was just wondering what I could listen to to have a better understanding of their applications.
    Thanks,
    Zack

2. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    Hmm, every piece of music includes some sort of scale(s), usually rearranged or in sections.

A scale is just a bunch of notes played in ascending or descending order of pitch. So a melody is really just a scale in a different order.

The question is, how well do you know the major scale and modes?
    If you know it well you'll find that the vast majority of melodies, basslines and solos are in there somewhere!

If you dont know your major scale well, read this article - link below - and practice until you do :)

http://www.talkbass.com/html/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=31

:)

3. ClarkW

ClarkW

Aug 1, 2003
    Provo, UT. USA
    Thou shalt buy the album "Kind of Blue" by Miles Davis, and yea, thou shalt listen to it over and over, and thou shalt transcribe every solo that every instrument performs on every song, yea even twice maybe, and thou shalt study them, figuring out what key and what mode they are all in. And thou shalt not forget the bassline to every song, for a good bassline maketh a pleasing sound unto mine ears.