Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Excellent Jeff Berlin Trio Video

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by sedgdog, Apr 10, 2004.

1. hvacfreak

hvacfreak

Feb 12, 2004
    The first piece , " Bach " , I've been playing that like since 1986 or so. Jeff Berlin is the most extreme player I can think of , thank you for the link to that. Berlin , Sheehan , Lee , my greatness list.

2. Arjan

Arjan

Apr 18, 2002
    man, this is great! I watched the whole movie, very inspiring to see Jeff berlin play. I have one cd (the two old solo albums released on one cd) of him but never saw him play.
    He plays so effortlessly, you can see that he is one of the true masters of the bass. You can see that he knows a TON about harmony and chords, just see him play that "jazz"solo and you know what I mean.

3. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    I have his "instructional" video (he really just plays some of his songs), and he is without a doubt, one of the most amazing players alive today. Thanks for the link.

Oh yeah, big props to the dude on the upright- he kills.

4. he looks bored.

5. steviecsg

steviecsg

Aug 16, 2002
    whose the guy on the upright does anyone know?

6. Arjan

Arjan

Apr 18, 2002
    The guy on the upright is Miroslav Vitous, he also did play in Weather Report.

7. Mojo-Man

Mojo-Man Supporting Member

Feb 11, 2003
    :cool:
    Great stuff.
    Jeff is one of my all time favs.
    A true master.

8. hateater

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    Yeah, he always makes odd faces. In the instructional video Rowdy Roddy Piper (no clue why JEff decided to have him in the video) said, "If I play bass, do I have to make stupid faces like you?"

9. you told me this on AIM :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

10. Anyone got the tab for the first song he did?

11. hateater

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR