1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Excessive popping when recording

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by whocares2021, May 13, 2010.

1. whocares2021

whocares2021

Dec 3, 2009
    So, my band has recently begun recording our songs for use in a demo. However, I've noticed that my tracks have a lot of popping sounds. I'm trying to figure out exactly why this is so I can fix it. I'm not sure if it's an equipment or technique problem.

Some facts: I use my fingers to play. I don't feel like I'm hitting the string too hard, but it's hard to say for certain, as I've been playing this way for 6 years or so. I'm the only one using direct output, everyone else is using room mics for their tracks. I'm using a Hartke vx3500, and a fender precision bass.

My settings for the amp are: Tube around 6.5, Solid around 3.5, compression around 3. EQ starts off maxed for the highs and slowly sloping down to the minimum on the lows. Low pass around 1, high pass maxed. volume around 5. I use Ernie Ball super slinky strings, and I tune down 3 steps on every string. All of these settings have been found through trial and error, trying to dial it in for maximum cut (my band has 2 guitarists, and I can get lost in the mix).

Sorry for the huge amount of probably useless info, but I wanted to be as thorough as possible to get this problem fixed.

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    are you plucking the strings up towards the ceiling or sideways towards the body of the bass and pickup? the latter can cause a pop sound as can plucking "pop" style sideways away from the bass.

if it's not technique, then i would look into the recording forums for a possible culprit (of which there can be many)

3. IvanMike

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA