Extremely Low Bass Volume when using Scarlett 2i2 & GarageBand

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by SemiDriven, Jan 9, 2021.

1. SemiDriven

SemiDriven Gold Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2012
    Milwaukee, WI
    Recording newbie here.

Having an issue hearing my bass when playing / recording via Scarlett 2i2 into Garageband.

Equipment:
    iMac
    GarageBand
    Scarlett 2i2
    Nektar Impact LX25+
    Zoom B3 (optional)
    PJB BigHead (optional)

I plug my passive bass direct into the 2i2 (instrument setting) and via headphones can barely hear the bass whether playing along to a composition or recording a bass line.

I've also tried using an XLR cable from a B3 into the 2i2. Same weak, low volume sound. Ditto using PJB Bighead into the 2i2.

I've tried adding a track in GarageBand using both Real Instrument as well as Electric Guitar and I'm not impressed at all with the anemic bass sound I'm getting from either track setting.

I'm obviously overlooking something.

What am I missing?

2. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA
    What’s your input level look like in your DAW? This will be represented as -#dbfs.

3. SemiDriven

Sep 2, 2012
    Milwaukee, WI
    Barely registering. I've tried cranking the gain on the 2i2 but the DAW input level stays the same. And it doesn't matter if I have the INST button pressed or not.

As far as I can determine, I've got everything hooked up right and I don't believe I have any bad connections (new stuff). So I'm a wee bit puzzled by this.

All of this is through the headphones. When I turn on the external speakers, I get the same result with one exception. As I turn the monitor volume up on the 2i2, I get feedback. Then I see the input levels rise! :woot:

4. silky smoove

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA