1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

F#C#G#C# String Help!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by gatorben24, Apr 22, 2010.

1. gatorben24

gatorben24

Mar 8, 2010
    Hey, so I was in two bands. One that played standard tunning and some drop D and the other that tunes to ^^^^that. I play on Elixir strings that came on my Ibanez and their just amazing but when I down tune them they get real ganky and just bad sounding and loose. And now I am out of the standard tune band and am just in the drop tune. And so my question.

What strings would be good with that downtune and are strong and smooth like the Elixir's? Sorry if its a bland question but I'm basically asking about drop tune strings. Sorry I'm also new with strings

Thanks for the help guys

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I typed in 'drop tune' in the search function of the strings forum, and there were numerous threads on this subject.

3. knuckle_head

knuckle_head Commercial User

Jul 30, 2002
    Seattle
    Owner; Knuckle Guitar Works & Circle K Strings
    Which F# are you trying to hit? 23 Hz?

You have two drop intervals - it'll be tough to find a set for that.

A straight drop tuned F# set (assuming you mean 23 Hz) would be;
    F#-.170 C#-.118 F#-.088 B-.064

4. I think you just posted your string order backwards, unless you're reall after a low F#

5. knuckle_head

Jul 30, 2002
    Seattle
    I run contrary to alot of industry standards - you've got to be right.

Assuming you are;
    .124 .084 .061 .043
    .118 .080 .058 .043

6. gatorben24

gatorben24

Mar 8, 2010